Disco


It’s all well and good to like this new breed of disco-synth-electronica that has been coming our way hard and fast, but how many times have you stopped to appreciate the sampled tracks that have inspired these modern day tunes?

I decided for my first post on Golden Scissors, I should start off with the roots of disco, and show all you scissoring fiends where the magic starts. The biggest tracks sample disco tunes, many of which you would know.

Lifelike’s Discopolis  samples this amazing track:

Kano – Another Life (mediafire)

Breakbot’s Baby I’m Yours samples this song:

Change – You’re My Number 1 (mediafire)

And we all know about Justice stealing a buttload of samples (if you haven’t, you can read about it here):

Boney M – Sunny (mediafire)
Donna Summer – Dim All The Lights
(mediafire)

Even geniuses like Mr Oizio get their inspiration from somewhere, Transexual sampled:

The J. Geils Band – Flamethrower (mediafire)


BUT before you get your keyboard warrior gear on and start ripping into me about not giving artists the credit they deserve, blah blah blah, shut the fuck up and continue reading. It takes a lot of hard work, a dreamy imagination and bucket loads of creativity to listen to a track and sample them correctly.

In my opinion sampling is recycling in it’s most beautiful of forms. It  just shows that music, if made well, will never be discarded, nor forgotten. It may once have been a song no one would have ever had listened to, but in 10, 20 even 30 years time, some budding musician might pick it up, find unutterable amazement in it and rebirth it.

I wasn’t totally aware of the immensity of sampling, because I’m a stupid girl. My hot boyfriend introduced me, and I feel like, to some extent, it’s grown my interest in music like a budding cancer.

Bonus:

Mr. Flagio – Take A Chance (Extended 12″ version) 

France Joli – Gonna Get Over You

The Whispers – And The Beat Goes On

If you want to do some sample discovering yourself, hop onto Who SampledHope you enjoyed my first post. I’ll have a lot more synthy electro coming your way in the future so keep your eyes peeled. If you like what you’ve read, visit my blog Futuristic Silence.



Leave a Reply

